A Funny Thing Happened at Chevron…

The car gauge read “hot”. We were on our way to Flagstaff for the holiday weekend to spend time with Kevs brother and his wife. With more coolant added we continued on our trip. We had such a wonderful time with Bill & Gail while Jake was in Ca with all his longtime buddies. On our way home the truck started to overheat again. We had to pull over again and again until we finally stopped at a Chevron. Having no a/c on I was overheating. After getting all the fluids I waited..and waited…and waited in line. Like the truck, I was beginning to get frustrated, dare I say a little angry? A woman was having trouble paying for her gas. She told the clerk to “ hold “ while she got cash. The line had grown and everyone was waiting. Someone yelled to cancel her transaction so we could all get out. Finally the poor clerk did and the line started to move. The woman came back demanding to stop the line, cut in front of everyone and take her money . Again , like the truck, I blew a gasket. I was almost out the door when she came back. Now, many of you are probably thinking “ what a great opportunity to share JESUS” .Unfortunately, I put Jesus in the back seat and told her to “ get the h—- to the back of the line or I was going to clobber her”. She quickly moved to the back of the line while I finished my own transaction. Those in line clapped because they too had become overheated. I’d like to tell you how badly I felt and asked God for forgiveness. But the truth was I was too hot, too tired, and just wanted to get home. Has anyone else felt like this lately? I’ve seen a lot of it on TV with the racial tensions, politicians, and religious injustices. In the midst of my anger I saw Jesus thru the forgiveness, compassion, and mercy of the Chevron clerk. While my transaction was going thru he very quietly set up the gas pump for the woman so she could get her gas. She was humbled and thanked him sincerely. She recognized she didn’t deserve it and her heart was changed. I don’t know if the clerk knew Jesus but his actions were more like him than mine that’s for sure! If you have found yourself angry with so much that is going on and wanting to blame someone I hope this simple story is a reminder that, even at our worst, Jesus loves us, forgives us, and has mercy on our imperfections. May we be able to show others the same…ok, I’m sorry Jesus😔
A2D721FA-1DB0-4DDC-9840-384C39A0FBD0

Leave a comment