A Tribute to my Irish Dad

Awe the sound of Irish music playing while drinking our green beer and Guinness stout because today’s our favorite Irish Day, St Patrick’s Day! Ok we did try to find an authentic Irish pub but we had to pay $15 cover charge! So we did the next best thing; a sports bar that had a four leaf clover on the outside and played our own Irish music on my IPhone☘️. While eating our corned beef dinner I started to think of my Irish dad. I could just see him singing “Danny Boy” in the real Irish pubs while he was in Ireland. Every St Paddy’s Day he and his best friend, Bob, who’s also Irish, would get together and make corned beef sandwiches with all the fixings. They would sit around the kitchen table telling fantastical stories while drinking their Guinness beer. There would be the sound of laughter throughout the house and the smell of the corned beef cooking. I miss him…his twinkling blue eyes, his words of encouragement, the daily phone calls we had when I was
traveling…and most of all his Irish hat on top of his bald head. He loved that hat because he got it when he was in Ireland. It was my Irish dad who inspired me to make my award winning Baileys Irish cupcakes. He loved Baileys in his coffee so, just before he passed away, I made my cupcake. He loved it. So to you dad we tip your Irish hat and say Happy Paddy’s Day! We miss you 😥☘️
20D64CE0-2796-4AD9-A913-21C778406593.jpeg

Leave a comment